Young Musicians of the Year Competition 2017 - Results


Sunday 12th November at The King's School saw another array of young talent at the annual Chester Young Musician competition organised by Chester Music Society. Adjudicator Simon Mercer had a difficult task in adjudicating seventeen outstanding youngsters performing on a wide range of instruments.

In the class up to age 12 the eventual winner was 11 year-old violinist George Akka from Prestbury, with close runner-up Edward Hartshorn perfoming percussion, including the marimba. Ed is 12 years old and he’s a student at Brine Leas Academy in Nantwich

In the 13 to 15 age group pianist Philip Asante-Siaw won his class with Arabesque by Debussy and Prelude No 5 by Rachmaninov. In second place was fellow-pianist Emma Lee performing Sonata No 1 by Beethoven and Miguel Astor's 'Adriana'.

In the senior group 16 year-old clarinettist Latchen Kinghorn-Perry from the Grange School, Hartford came second to the class winner and Overall Chester Young Musician of 2017, 17 year-old Louie McIver who performed Fantasy and Fugue by Bach and  John Ireland's 'April'.

Louie McIver was born in Wrexham in 2000. He started piano lessons at the age of five at the suggestion of his grandmother. He began composing music at eight years old and now studies composition with Michael D Williams in Chester. In 2013 Louie was a winner of the BBC Proms Inspire Young Composers’ Competition and subsequently received a BBC commission. He also commenced violin lessons at age nine and is now a member of the Wrexham Symphony Orchestra and the National Youth Orchestra of Wales.

He studies piano with John Gough of Chester and has enjoyed success at the Chester Music Festival, the Wirral Festival and the Alderley Edge Festival. He passed his piano diploma with a distinction last December and is looking forward to studying music at university in the next academic year

All six winners and runners-up will be heard again in a joint public performance at Chester St Mary’s Creative Space on Wednesday 17 January next year, when they will also receive their awards from Society Chairman David Woods.


George Akka (1) edited  Class One (up to age 12)
  Winner: George Akka violin   Runner up: Edward Hartshorn percussiuon


Philip Asante-Siaw (4) edited  Class Two(13 to 15)
  Winner: Philip Asante-Siaw piano  Runner up: Emma Lee piano


 Louie McIver (2A) edited Class Three (16 to 18)

  Winner: Louie McIver piano  Runner up: Latchen Kinghorn-Perry clarinet