An Evening with Mozart

An Evening with Mozart

Saturday 17 March 2018, 7.30pm

The Music Society Choir joins forces with the Liverpool Sinfonia and an outstanding line-up of soloists under the direction of Graham Jordan Ellis to celebrate the genius of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.

The Solemn Vespers were written in 1780 for Salzburg Cathedral, and provide an appropriate opening to a celebration of the genius of Mozart in this programme of his greatest music. The choir is delighted to welcome back Chester pianist John Gough to perform the great Concerto No 23. The A major Concerto was written in 1786 and has become one of Mozart's most popular compositions.
Secretly commissioned by member of the aristocracy in Vienna, the Requiem was Mozart's last composition, and was left unfinished on his death in December 1791. It was completed by Franz Süssmayr in 1792.

Mozart        Solemn Vespers
Mozart        Piano Concerto No23 in A major K488
Mozart        Requiem

Susanna Fairburn soprano
Margaret McDonald contralt
Ben Thapa tenor
Brian Bannatyne-Scott bass

John Gough piano

Chester Music Society Choir
Liverpool Sinfonia
Graham Jordan Ellis conductor

Venue: Chester Cathedral, St Werburgh Street, Chester, CH1 2HU

Tickets: £7 £14 £20 From Cathedral Ticket Desk in person or by telephone: 01244 500959, or at the door subject to availablity. Concessions and group discounts available.  Tickets are also available on-line: For 17 March click here

Chester Music Society reserves the right to alter or cancel programmes without notice.

Find us on Facebook click here